NHS inductees

Parents, Board of Education members, administrators and staff gathered on Dec. 5 at Hilton High School to honor the induction of 75 students into the Hilton Chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS).

Advisors Laura Schrenker and Tony Ambrose welcomed attendees to the ceremony before Principal Dr. Jeff Green took the stage to thank parents, guardians and family members for their part in helping to mold the students being honored. “You, inductees, are going to be the difference makers of your generation. Making a difference is a lifelong pursuit that consists of countless daily decisions,” he told the inductees. “Embrace the opportunity to be the difference makers in our community."

This year’s keynote speaker, selected by the students, was Mr. Michael Ellicott, Health and Introduction to Teaching teacher, and boys’ varsity soccer coach. A native of Manchester, England, Ellicott talked about the value of grit and hard work, and even gave inductees a small piece of ultra fine grit sandpaper to remind them not to forget about their grit.  “My hope is that you all continue to build your grit, that you continue to persevere through those tough times in life, find your way around those bumps in the road,” he said. “But tonight, take the time to reflect on and remember how your perseverance pulled you through a lot of hard work and has brought you to this wonderful occasion to be recognized in front of your peers, your family and the school community.”

National Honor Society officers – President Bronte Jones, Vice President Maria Beghini, Secretary Abigail Hilburger, and Treasurer Shawn Nordstrom – reviewed the four pillars of membership, which are scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Each inductee was called up on stage to have a parent place an NHS pin on their lapel and to sign the registry. Students then lit a candle and together recited the NHS oath.

The newly inducted members are:
Sara Amend
Katherine Barry
Sofia Beghini
Gianna Bianchi
Jazz Bianchi
Brodie Bostley
Julia Brone
Ava Brugno
Mary Burke
Peyton Carter
Tyler Coughlin
Giovanni D’Alonzo
Madison DeGraeve
Brianna Delisanti
Natalie DeLuca
Reilly Deming
Yianna Diakomihalis
Isabella DiGiacco
A’ndrea Domicello
Hailey Edmond
Brooke Fede
Sydney Fisher
Tessa Geiger
Katelyn Gerould
Briella Greczyn
Grace Green
Nicholas Gruener
Gianna Guarino
Sam Guzzetta
Jacie Hall
Jude Hare
Mallory Heise
Addison Helmer
Daphne Hix
Michael Hudson
Ethan John
Olivia Johnson
Regina Johnson
Renee Jorgensen
Joanna Killinni
Natalie Kiser
Nathan Kiser
Katherine Kosiorek
John Larotonda
Sydney Lenhard
Isabella Lenzi
Angelina Lill
Luke Manley
Megan Marean
Ava Mason
Hailey McConnell
Alexa McGarrity
Estee McKee
Evangelina Migitskiy
Dylan Mongold
Alexander Padoleski
Andrew Paolini
Rebecca Phillips
Joseph Piperni
Emma Postilli
Tyler Reisinger
Andrew Sadecki
Carli Scarpulla
Rachael Semke
Paige Siciliano
Ella Simonelli
Addison Sloan
Laura Sommer
Jadelyn Strucker
Marisa Thomas
Claire Turner
Meghan Wahl
Shayna Weeks
Taylor Wilson
Grant Wood